What I ate Wednesday #3

16 Nov

So, it’s that time of week again!

Today’s day is last Friday.

Breakfast was Special K and Yorkshire Tea for hard water areas, as usual.

Working from home, I forgot to eat lunch (this happens frequently, as I find my groove, get into whatever I’m writing, and the time slips past with not a tummy grumble to mark it) So, it was to be a fridge lunch, and I fancied some quinoa. Googling took me here, and I ended up making this variation on that recipe from my fridge and storecupboard.

Ingredients
50g quinoa
An onion
Spray oil
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 garlic clove , crushed
2 tsp ground cumin
Some feta cheese , crumbled
Three big handfuls of spinach , roughly chopped

Chop the onion and fry in the spray oil. Meanwhile make up the quinoa as per the pack. While it simmers, chop the spinach and crumble the feta. Mix up the olive oil, balsamic, garlic and cumin in a small bowl. When the quinoa is done and strained and the onion is fried up nicely, mix together and add the dressing to coat. Stir in the spinach and let wilt slightly. Top with the feta and season.

This is brilliant! I was so pleased that I made it three times this weekend. The sweetness of the onions goes so well with the nuttyness of the quinoa and the sourness of the vinegar. Marvellous.

20111114-211753.jpg

Dinner was another bowl of the same as it was sooo good, followed by apples heated with vanilla essence & cinnamon, served with zero fat Greek yoghurt. Lovely!

20111114-212045.jpg

4 Responses to “What I ate Wednesday #3”

  1. mindrunningwild November 16, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I can’t forget to eat lunch ever- you’re lucky!

  2. brokencookiesdontcount November 16, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    I can’t say how much I love quinoa and your dish sounds delicious!

  3. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) November 16, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Quinoa is so awesome! 🙂
    I love Greek yogurt with apples and cinnamon!

    • commutershrink November 19, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      Thanks all three for the comments!

      MRW – I only forget if I’m really really engrossed in what I’m working on. So about once a month, then – the rest of the time I’m half-reaching for the next biscuit and remembering to reach for a satsuma instead…

      Shannon and BCDC – thanks! So tasty xx

Leave a Reply

