What I ate Wednesday #4

23 Nov

So, here we are again: another week, another Wednesday. And I’ve been hugging myself with glee thinking about what fun I have to write about for you all this week!

My day this week is Sunday (though the cooking starts on Saturday…).

Breakfast: Dorset Foods’ Gingerbread Porridge (thanks Skinny Latte for the heads-up! There’s tons in my Waitrose, thankfully – although I may be back to clean out the shelves). No photos, as it looked like nothing in the bowl. Obviously, Yorkshire Tea for hard water areas was drunk in skinfuls.

Lunch: edamame in oyster sauce. My standard, delicious, ready-in-three-from-the-freezer lunch or late dinner. So savoury! What does Heston call it? Umami! Yes, that in bags.

Dinner: aha. This is where it gets interesting. Carnitas with tomato, onion, coriander and lime salsa; zero yoghurt; cheese; lettuce, rice and tacos. I was feeding seven, hence the pork shoulder, which looked like this (I forgot to take a photo before I’d wrestled it into two pieces – and yes, that is how much it cost me):

I broke up the shoulder in five pieces, removed the skin and as much fat as I could, then popped it into the slow cooker (in two batches, starting Saturday afternoon and going on overnight). I’ve been wanting to try this amazing recipe for months, and the coincidence of a free Saturday and the need to cook for a big group made it happen, finally. In with the pork went orange and tomato juices, garlic, spices, chillis and tons of chipotle paste. After ten hours’ cooking, it looked like this:

Once it had cooled I shredded the pork (it fell off the bones in my hands) and removed any remaining fatty bits. I then strained the cooking liquid, did the ice-cube trick to take out the liquid fat, and reserved it. I then packed it all up and took it on a two-hour trip with me to Londonshrink’s place in town, where a bevy of hungry (and in some cases, hungover) friends awaited. My Mexican feast was very well received – especially as it provided at least two packed lunches and another Monday night dinner too! Here’s the carnitas and tacos in all their glory:

I was so proud of myself: proper hot spicy food long in the preparation but ready almost instantly. I ate far too many tacos – at least four!

Late night snack: Sunday night, I was on a roll. In front of the telly, I had a lovely homemade chai latte made from this wonderful recipe (in American measures; bear in mind 1 cup of liquid is 8oz, and if you’re using sugar substitute like me, each serving requires about 4 tablespoons rather than the 6.5 the recipe demands). I’ve had to go back and make a second lot already as it was so popular – and now my office are demanding I bring some in for them! Honestly, the recipe is so easy, I swear I’ll just keep making this rather than buying mixes and other teas. I’ve been looking for a late night milky drink for a while, but all the chai latte mixes are so sugar-packed, and I wanted something where I controlled how fattening it was. I also made it with decaf tea so that it’s good for the evening and won’t keep me awake, and I upped the spices so it’s pretty challenging compared to bland high street chain versions. One note of caution, though: if you double the quantities, don’t double the amount of tea as it starts to get bitter.

Here’s the mix in the making:

Here’s the drink itself:

And here’s the two bottles (yes, wine bottles!) of concentrate I have to get through until I need another batch:

I had the chai latte with my one really really unhealthy treat of the weekend: a Green & Black’s mini dark chocolate bar with ginger. They were giving them out free at Baker St tube on Thursday, would have been rude not to… Thankfully Londonshrink and the boys polished off the rest, leaving me free from temptation!

So, there’s my What I Ate Wednesday! Do tell me what you ate…

One Response to “What I ate Wednesday #4”

  1. brokencookiesdontcount November 23, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    The edamame looks delicious and so simple!

Leave a Reply

